UAEC Members:

  • Michele Casavant – Director of Advising, School of Education
  • Misty Chandler –  Director of Student Services, Edwards Campus
  • Abby Coffin – Director, Undergraduate Advising Center 
  • Gene Hotchkiss – Senior Associate Dean, School of Pharmacy
  • Karen Ledom – Director of Student Academic Services, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Frances Lyons – Assistant Dean for Student Services, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Jason O’Connor – Assistant Dean of Academic Programs, Director of Student Academic Services, School of Business
  • Rita Riley – Director of Student Services, School of Music
  • Cyndie Schudel – Undergraduate Programs Consultant and Advisor, School of Nursing 
  • Dawn Shew – Director of Undergraduate Academic Services, School of Engineering, Chair 2017-2018
  • Michael Swann – Associate Dean, School of Architecture, Design, and Planning
  • Kristin Trendel – Assistant Dean, School of Social Welfare
  • DeAngela Burns-Wallace – Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies (ex-officio)
  • Susan Klusmeier – Director, Strategic Initiatives for Undergraduate Studies (ex-officio)
  • Sean Navarro - University Innovation Alliance Fellow (ex-officio)

KU Core

The KU Core stretches across the undergraduate experience, yielding fundamental skills, building a broad background of knowledge, generating capacities and opportunities for blending and creating ideas, strengthening an appreciation of cultural and global diversity, and cultivating ethical integrity. Each of our six educational goals has one or more distinct learning outcomes. Learn more visit

DEI Strategy

Undergraduate Studies is committed to creating and promoting an inclusive and diverse learning environment, in our offices, through our programming, and throughout our services supporting students. Our leadership team is currently developing a DEI strategy that will guide our efforts across the units. The strategy will be regularly reviewed and adapted to reflect the needs of the community we serve. 

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today